An independent panel of 2-5 external scientists will be appointed by NIDDK and will meet by teleconference with the IIDP Project Scientist and the IIDP Project Officer at least once a year. The IIDP-ESP will be periodically updated on program progress and give feedback to the NIH on adjustments and future directions for IIDP activities.

NIDDK Program Staff

Kristin Abraham, Ph.D.

NIDDK Project Scientist

Sheryl M. Sato, Ph. D.

NIDDK Program Official

External Scientific Panel

Rahgu Mirmira, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Indiana Diabetes Research Center
Indiana University

Susan Bonner-Weir, Ph.D.

Senior Investigator
Joslin Diabetes Center
Harvard University

Hirohito Ichii, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery
University of California, Irvine

Vincent Poitout, Ph.D.

Scientific Director
University of Montreal, Quebec

Andrew Rakeman, Ph.D.

JDRF Sr. Scientific Manager

Luis Fernandez, M.D. - Ex Officio

Associate Professor
University of Wisconsin